Public Statement In Support Of Dr. K S Madhavan

“The article broadly explained the need to recruit academics from Dalit, Adivasi, and minority communities to implement inclusive education policies…”
Public Statement In Support Of Dr. K S Madhavan

The University of Calicut has issued a memo threatening disciplinary action against the noted academic and public intellectual Dr. K. S. Madhavan for co-authoring a newspaper article critiquing the improper implementation of reservation policies in the universities in Kerala. In the article, the authors have mentioned the fact that the National Commission for SC and ST had sought a report from the University of Calicut regarding the implementation of reservation norms in academic appointments. Invoking the cherished ideals of the Indian constitution that guarantees equality of opportunity, the article broadly explained the need to recruit academics from Dalit, Adivasi, and minority communities to implement inclusive education policies.
The centuries-old vestiges of caste had deprived and oppressed sections of Indian society from participating in knowledge production. Universities are supposed to guarantee equal opportunities so that people from disadvantaged communities are properly represented in higher educational institutions. Shockingly, the University that is supposed to stand for social inclusion and freedom of speech is attempting to subvert the very efforts towards achieving those principles. This is unbecoming of a university that should have been a place for ‘humanism, tolerance, and reason.’ Therefore, we, the undersigned, demand that the University of Calicut desist from destroying academic freedom and retract from threatening Dr. K S Madhavan with disciplinary action.

1. Sukhadeo Thorat, Economist and Former chairman, UGC.
2. Uma Chakravarthi, Feminist Historian, Delhi.
3. K Satyanarayana, Professor, EFLU, Hyderabad.
4. Nissar Ahammed, Academic and Writer.
5. M Kunhaman, Economist and Rtd. Professor, TISS, Mumbai.
6. Sanal P Mohan, Historian and Former Director, KCHR.
7. J Devika, Professor, CDS, Thiruvananthapuram.
8. C Lakshmanan, Professor, MIDS, Chennai & Dalit Intellectual Collective.
9. Meena Gopal, Professor, School of Gender Studies, TISS, Mumbai.
10. Dr. Azad, Rtd. Principal, NSS College, Manjeri.
11. P K Pokker, Academic, Calicut.
12. T T Sreekumar, Professor, EFLU, Hyderabad.
13. Sheeba K M, Professor of History, Sree Sankaracharya University, Kalady.
14. Yasser Arafath, Assistant Professor of History, University of Delhi.
15. Thiagu Ranganathan, Associate Professor, CDS, Thiruvananthapuram.
16. Reshma Bharadwaj, Associate Professor, Social Work, Sree Sankaracharya University, Kalady.
17. Jayaseelan Raj, Assistant Professor, CDS, Thiruvananthapuram.
18. Rekha Raj, Assistant Professor, Gandhian Thought and Development Studies, M G University.
19. Sruthi Herbert, Research Fellow, University of Edinburgh, UK.
20. Burton Cleetus, Assistant Professor, Centre for Historical Studies JNU.
21. Mythri Prasad Aleyamma, Academic, City University of New York.
22. Muhammad Irshad, Assistant Professor, TISS, Mumbai.
23. K N Sunandan, Assistant Professor, Azim Premji University, Bengaluru.
24. Bindu K C, Assistant professor, Ambedkar University, Delhi.
25. S Gunasekaran, Assistant Professor, Centre for Historical Studies, JNU.
26. Sachin N, Assistant Professor, Dyal Singh College, University of Delhi.
27. Benaseer V L, JNU, New Delhi.
28. Radhika T, Scientist, CMET, Kerala.
29. Abhilash Thadathil, Assistant Professor, CDS, Thiruvananthapuram.
30. Sophy Joseph, Assistant Professor of Law, National Law University, Delhi.
31. Carmel Christy K J, Assistant Professor, Delhi University.
32. Shan Eugene Palakkal, Stella Maris College, Chennai.
33. Mohammed Iqbal, Madanapalle Institute of Technology and Science.
34. Dileep Raj, Assistant Professor, Brennan College, Thalassery.
35. M B Manoj, Department of Malayalam and Kerala Studies, University of Calicut.
36. Rajesh Komath, Associate Professor, Mahatma Gandhi University, Kottayam.
37. Bijulal M V, Assistant Professor, International Relations and Politics, MG University, Kottayam.
38. O K Santhosh, Assistant Professor, University of Madras.
39. Sonia George, Secretary, SEWA Union.
40. Umesh Omanakuttan, Film Maker.
41. P Remesan, Activist and Teacher.
42. A K Vasu, Writer and Teacher.
43. Anil Kumar P V, Associate Professor, Govt Victoria College, Palakkad.
44. N C Haridasan, Retd. Professor, University of Kerala.
45. Amithabh Bachan, Assistant Professor, MES, Asmabi College.
46. Achiles AB , Assistant Professor Of Islamic History, Maharaja’s College, Ernakulam.
47. Lajith V S, Assistant Professor and Head, History, K S M D B College, Sasthamkotta.
48. Dr. Merlin Isaac, Medical College, Kottayam.
49. Shyma P, Government College, Payyanur.
50. Bindu Ammini, Govt. Law College, Calicut.
51. Monu N C, Malabar Christian College, Calicut.
52. Chandran Komath, Government College, Kottayam.
53. Pushparajan M M, Assistant Professor of Political Science, Govt. College, Trippunithura.
54. R Sunil, Journalist.
55. Amal C Rajan.
56. Praveena Thali.
57. Maya Pramod.
58. Viju V V, PhD Scholar, IIT Madras.
59. Biyas Muhammed.
60. Ranjith T.
61. Aarsha G S, Central University, Pondicherry.
62. Jaincy John, Central University of Kerala.
63. Nikhil M C, University of Kerala.
64. Kevin Thomas, Trivandrum.
65. K S Sudeep, Hyderabad.
66. Lal Krishna, GLIT, Madras.
67. Pramod K, IIT Madras.
68. Arun P, Central University, Pondicherry.
69. Ajeesh Raj.
70. Nidha Fazliya A R, Government Law College, Kozhikode.
71. Ameen Javeed, Malappuram.
72. Juwairiya K B.
73. Shine P, SBPC College Piravom.
74. Saji K SBPC College, Piravom
75. Hamim Akif, Calicut.
76. S. Vinoth, Central University, Pondicherry.
77. Biju R IM.S.M. College, Kayamkulam.
78. Rakesh Ram S, Thalassery.
79. Gouri, RICTA-UAB.
80. Abdul Basith, TISS Mumbai.
81. Vishnu Uppalakkal, IIT Madras.
82. Aniljith Mathew, Central University, Pondicherry.
83. Sonal Sebastian, Central University, Pondicherry.
84. Ravi Sankar S. Nair, Trivandrum.
85. Afthab Ellath, Ministry of Health, Oman.
86. Ajsal, IIT, Madras.
87. Ashley Tellis, Independent Researcher.
88. Sreedevi P S, Research Scholar Department of Malayalam
Sreesankaracharya University of Sanskrit
89.Daya Aruna, Research Scholar, Jamia Milla Islamia, New Delhi
90.Waseem RS, Research Scholar, Jawaharlal Nehru University New Delhi
91.Muhammad Afeef, Jamia Millia Islamia Delhi
92. Deepa P Mohanan, Research Scholar, IIUCNN, Mahatma Gandhi University
93. Anju C Mohan, Research Scholar, University of Calicut
94.Vinil Paul, Research Scholar,Centre For Historical Studies, JNU

Follow | Facebook | Instagram Telegram | Twitter